Page content

About the Holding

Austrian Federal Theatres is Austria’s largest theatre organisation. Historically, the association goes back to the former imperial and royal court theatre, i.e. the Hofburgtheater (Court Theatre) and the Hofoper (Court Opera). In 1922, a second smaller theatre, Akademietheater at Lisztstrasse, was opened besides the Burgtheater, and in 1955 the Volksoper at Währinger Gürtel was integrated into Austrian Federal Theatres. Today, Austrian Federal Theatres is the umbrella organisation uniting the three state theatres – Burgtheater and its affiliated venues Akademietheater and Kasino am Schwarzenbergplatz, the Vienna State Opera and Volksoper Wien – the Vienna State Ballet, and ART for ART Theaterservicegesellschaft.

Following their separation from federal administration in 1999, the federal theatres are now organised as a group of five independent limited companies:

Die Bundestheater-Holding GmbH
It is responsible for managing the Austrian Federal Theatres Group and for strategic management of the subsidiaries in line with their cultural and economic objectives. It is 100%-owned by the Republic of Austria.    

The theatre companies
Burgtheater GmbH
Wiener Staatsoper GmbH
Volksoper Wien GmbH
are independent and artistically autonomous companies and 100%-owned by Bundestheater-Holding GmbH.    

Theaterservice GmbH
ART for ART Theaterservicegesellschaft comprises the costume and set workshops, ticket sales, facility management and information technology under one roof. 51.1% are held by the Bundestheater-Holding, the remaining 48.9 % stake is shared among the three theatre companies (16.3% each).      

Wiener Staatsoper ballet company
In 2005, the ballet companies of the Vienna State Opera and of Volksoper Wien were merged. The Wiener Staatsoper ballet company is artistically and financially independent and organisationally subordinated to the two music theatres as a consortium.    

The tasks of Austrian Federal Theatres are set out in the Federal Theatres Organisation Act.

The work of the Bundestheater-Holding is based on the principles of economy, efficiency and effectiveness. This holds in particular for the use of the grants allocated to the Bundestheater-Holding and the theatre companies by the Republic of Austria. This basic state funding represents the financial basis allowing it to fulfil its cultural and political mandate which is laid down in the Federal Theatres Organisation Act.

Infografik

Group Structure Download

The main tasks of the Bundestheater-Holding include:

  • strategic management of the subsidiaries    
  • group-wide controlling 
  • group-wide accounting and payroll accounting
  • group-wide internal audit    
  • providing financial security for the theatre companies to fulfil their cultural policy mandate    
  • uniform regulation and implementation of fundamental issues of group-wide relevance 
  • negotiation and conclusion of collective bargaining agreements for the group companies
  • maintenance and repair of buildings and properties (venues) left for usufruct 

Organigramm_Holding_20180901

Organisational Chart Bundestheater-Holding Download

Seiteninhalt

Über die Holding

Die Österreichischen Bundestheater sind Österreichs größte Theaterorganisation. Den historischen Grundstock dieses Verbundes bilden die ehemaligen k.k. Hoftheater, also das Hofburgtheater und die Hofoper. 1922 erhielt das Burgtheater mit dem Akademietheater in der Lisztstraße eine zweite, kleinere Spielstätte, 1955 wurde die Volksoper am Währinger Gürtel den Österreichischen Bundestheatern eingegliedert. Heute sind unter den Österreichischen Bundestheatern die drei Staatstheater – das Burgtheater mit seinen Dependancen Akademietheater und Kasino am Schwarzenbergplatz, die Wiener Staatsoper und die Volksoper Wien – das Wiener Staatsballett sowie die ART for ART Theaterservicegesellschaft vereint.

1999 wurden die Bundestheater aus der Bundesverwaltung ausgegliedert und sind seither als ein Konzern mit fünf eigenständigen GmbHs organisiert: 

Die Bundestheater-Holding GmbH
Sie ist für die Konzernleitung der Österreichischen Bundestheater zuständig und verantwortet die strategische Führung der Tochtergesellschaften im Rahmen ihrer kulturpolitischen und wirtschaftlichen Zielsetzungen. Sie steht zu 100% im Eigentum der Republik Österreich 

Die Bühnengesellschaften
Burgtheater GmbH
Wiener Staatsoper GmbH
Volksoper Wien GmbH
Sie sind wirtschaftlich eigenverantwortliche und künstlerisch autonome Gesellschaften und stehen zu 100% im Eigentum der Bundestheater- Holding GmbH.

Theaterservice GmbH
Die ART for ART Servicegesellschaft  – hier sind Kostüm- und Dekorationswerkstätten, der Kartenvertrieb, die Gebäudeverwaltung sowie die EDV zusammengefasst – gehört zu 51,1% der Bundestheater-Holding, die übrigen 48,9 % teilen sich die drei Bühnengesellschaften (jeweils 16,3%). 

Das Wiener Staatsballett
2005 wurden die Ballett-Kompanien der Wiener Staatsoper und der Volksoper Wien vereinigt. Das Wiener Staatsballett ist künstlerisch und finanziell autonom und als eine den beiden Musiktheatern nachgeordnete ARGE organisiert.

Die Aufgaben der Österreichischen Bundestheater sind im Bundestheaterorganisationsgesetz geregelt.

Die Grundsätze der Sparsamkeit, Wirtschaftlichkeit und Zweckmäßigkeit sind das Grundprinzip des Handelns der Bundestheater-Holding. Das gilt in erster Linie für die Verwendung der Subventionen, die der Bundestheater-Holding und den Bühnengesellschaften von der Republik Österreich bereitgestellt werden. Diese sogenannte Basisabgeltung ist die finanzielle Grundlage für die Erfüllung des im Bundestheaterorganisationsgesetz gesetzlich festgeschriebenen kulturpolitischen Auftrags.

Infografik

Konzernstruktur Download

Die Hauptaufgaben der Bundestheater-Holding sind:

  • die strategische Führung der Tochtergesellschaften
  • das konzernweite Controlling
  • die konzernweite interne Revision
  • die finanzielle Absicherung der Bühnengesellschaften als Voraussetzung für die Erfüllung ihres kulturpolitischen Auftrages
  • die einheitliche Regelung von Grundsatzfragen des Konzerns und deren Durchsetzung
  • die Verhandlung und der Abschluss von Kollektivverträgen für die Konzernbetriebe
  • Instandhaltungs- und Herstellungsmaßnahmen an den in den Fruchtgenuss übertragenen Liegenschaften und Gebäuden (Spielstätten)


Infografik_Struktur_end.png

Organigramm Bundestheater-Holding Download